Tips to Make Your Hair Grow Really Fast!

model

Remember that it can’t grow overnight. Want to unleash new strands like a Chia Pet? If your hair is super-healthy and doesn’t have a ton of split ends, on average, hair grows half and inch a month BUT how would you like to grow your hair over an inch in just one week? Find out how you can more than triple your hair growth AND grow brand new hairs here.

Ever since I was a teenager I’ve been some what follically challenged with a very sluggish hair growth cycle & dry, curly hair (in the late 70’s curly hair was an outcast, (Farrah Fawcett flips were in & my hair was definitely out)! This might be caused by a combination of genetics, over-styling and a low iron count, and my hair can go through phases of struggling to grow new hair so it needs a helping hand every now and then.

Over the years I’ve experimented with different things from hair products to natural home remedies, and after a lot of reading and cosmetology school & LOTS of testing I’ve found formulas that really does work. I’m mostly concerned with cultivating new hairs, but it was a very happy surprise to find my hair grew rapidly at the same time. I wanted to share with you what has worked for me in the past & what I am doing now because it may just work for you!

OK, Hair 101 first…hair follows a specific growth cycle with three phases:

Anagen – The growth phase. The longer a hair remains in the Anagen phase the longer it will grow – this depends on genetics but it can last 2 – 6 years.

Catagen – This is a transitional phase that hair goes into once Anagen has ended. The hair follicle will shrink, the papilla detaches and the hair is no longer attached to it’s ‘life supply’ of nutrients. Hair is no longer growing.

Telogen – Also known as the resting phase. The follicle remains dormant and the hair will be anchored in place. Depending on the strength of the follicle, it will eventually soften and the hair will eventually break free and shed.

The phases run simultaneously so some hairs on your head will be in the Anagen phase and others in Telogen.  For each hair strand, the Anagen phase should start again once the Telogen phase is complete, but some people may experience longer Telogen phases meaning hair is shedding but no new hair is growing. This may result in thinning of the hair, so what we want to do is effectively ‘jump-start’ the Anagen phase and encourage the growth phase to begin. The Telogen phase is a natural phase this does not include when our hair is breaking!

There are a few ways we can help our bodies to do this, which I will talk about later in the post.

1. Biotin

Biotin, also known as Vitamin H, forms a part of the B-complex group of vitamins that help turn food into fuel for energy. It also assists in the metabolism of fats, carbs and amino acids which are the building blocks of protein. Protein-rich foods are excellent for maintaining good hair, but to really help your hair grow quicker and stronger you’ll need to facilitate the building blocks – Biotin.  Biotin is important for our skin, hair & nails.

The daily requirement is 30 micrograms but you can consume more for a real Biotin boost. Take it in a supplement, commonly found in health stores or you can eat foods that are naturally high in Biotin (I choose the latter as the food will have other body boosting benefits, too) These include:

  • Almonds, peanuts, pecans and walnuts
  • Eggs – the yolk has one of the highest concentrations of Biotin
  • Milk and cheese
  • Pork and cooked liver
  • Salmon and sardines
  • Avocado and cauliflower

2. The “Inversion Method”

This here will change your haircare regime. Beauty bloggers and YouTube vloggers across the world have been raving about it for months, and it really can work. I’ve NOT tried the Inversion Method because I have a spinal cord injury in my neck & it is not recommended if you have low or high blood pressure, a detached retina, an ear infection, a spinal injury, heart problems, a hernia, or are pregnant. The inversion position itself could exacerbate your condition or cause further injury…Now it might not work for everyone, but it’s definitely worth a try.

Just make sure you measure your hair before and after for conclusive results, and look for new hairs around your hairline – they may be slightly static and will stand on end. You can find out more about this method here. The Inversion Method claims to grow up to an inch of hair in seven days. The theory behind it is that being inverted, along with a scalp massage, is supposed to increase circulation to the scalp and allow more blood flow to your hair follicles allowing hair growth to increase.

FYI…If you’re using heat tools every day whether that be hot irons or the hair-dryer, try to cut down on using them while you are doing the Inversion Method. Heat can weaken your hair so even just alternating or going an extra day without heat can dramatically improve the condition of your hair.

3. Cold water

Hot water strips the hair of moisture and weakens hair strands making it more perceptible to breakage. Make sure you’re washing your hair with luke warm water and definitely not hot or scorching. I live in Florida, so our cold water is actually warm so I rinse my hair out in cold water & “wash” it in luke warm water.

You want to open pores to clean your scalp which luke warm water will do, then close the cuticles which will help reduce hair loss and frizz. So ensure you finish washing your hair with a blast of cold water.

By closing your pores they are far less vulnerable than open pores so by washing your hair in cold water you’ll help protect your scalp from dirt, grease and oil. If pores are sealed then your hair is more likely to be stronger and shed less. This one step can make a huge difference.

4. Scissors….

Although getting regular trims to snip splits won’t make your hair actually grow faster, it will keep tips looking healthy and prevent splits from working their way up strands, requiring you to chop hair off more often. If you wait so long that splits are causing your hair to break off high up on the strand, your hair will actually be shorter than if you get consistent trims.  Ask your stylist to take around just an eighth of an inch off every 10 to 12 weeks to prevent extreme split ends before they start. You don’t have to chop off 3″ like I did!

While you are on your hair mission, try to avoid tying your hair very tightly. You don’t want to cause any unnecessary pulling which can results in breakage, splits and snags.  So when you do trim your hair or cut it, get a style where you can keep it loose & not tied up all the time.

5. Use conditioner every time you shampoo

If your hair is wet, that means you have to condition it, period!  Over time, from coloring and heat styling, strands start to get thinner at the bottom, conditioner helps replace the lipids and proteins inside the hair shaft, as well as seal the cuticle to help prevent more damage from happening so that you can get your hair to grow longer and look healthier!

If you MUST use shampoo, the type of shampoo you use make a HUGE difference! Stay away from Sulfate! Use Sulfate-Free or Soy Isoflavones based.

6. Coconut Oil

If your using the Inversion Method, I highly recommend Coconut Oil! If you don’t already own a tub of Coconut Oil  make sure you visit your health food store or online retailer. A tub will last you a good few months and it’s packed with vitamins and fatty acids to help nourish your hair. This is also incredible for your skin, I use can use it as a scrub, I add sugar to a couple of scoops of coconut oil and make a scrub, I use it in the shower, rinse off & Voila soft smooth skin this is also GREAT before you shave…BE CAREFUL you don’t slip!!

Comprised mainly of smaller medium-chain fatty acids, the oil is also able to penetrate more deeply and faster than most other conditioners, and because it’s 100% natural you can use it as much as you like without any damage.

There are numerous benefit of using Coconut Oil on your hair, these include:

  • Stimulates hair growth by penetrating deep into the follicles
  • Provides amazing moisturisation for dry hair
  • Adds shine to hair
  • Reduces protein loss in your hair – the only oil to do this
  • Contains anti-bacterial properties to soothe an ichy or flakey scalp

Use Coconut Oil while doing the Inversion Method or as a once a week overnight treatment.

7. Don’t shampoo every time you shower

It’s shocking to me how many women skip conditioner when showering, but shampoo EVERY day, which is the worst thing you can do for your hair — especially when you’re trying to grow it long —shampoo should be skipping as much as possible.

Here’s why: The purpose of shampoo is to wash away dirt and product buildup, but it can also take essential natural oils that keep strands soft and healthy along with it. When you really do need shampoo, be gentler on your hair by only lathering up at your scalp and then simply letting the suds slide down strands, hitting the rest of the hair as the water rinses it away. no need to scrub your hair like a lunatic, wet hair breaks easily!

8. Hair-boosting supplements

 Your body requires many vital nutrients to create new hair, from ample protein to a slew of essential minerals. So take a look at your diet — because while eating a balanced diet helps, you may not be getting the proper amount of all the hair-building nutrients needed to create healthy hair that can grow super-long and withstand damage. I take a hair-boosting supplement every day and tell my clients to do so as well — especially if they want to grow their hair and make it healthier as soon as it comes out of the follicle!

So, about 3 months ago my hair was so damaged, split, thinned & just plain crappy, I decided to cut over 3″ off trying to save what was left of my disaster! I really didn’t think there was any help to fix my hair, I even came VERY, VERY close to shaving it off. No joke! I thought I needed to start over from scratch.

Thankfully I did not do that! Instead I decided to take my “Mermaid Challenge” …in 30 days not only has my hair gotten healthier, less split ends, but….it grew almost 3″!! Yes 3″…it started out just above my bra strap after I chopped the 3″ & today it is now way past that! My hair is not breaking at all, I no longer can make a wig out of the hair in my hand when I wash my hair & it’s thicker!

I hope this was of value to you & if you are growing your hair…let me know about your results and what YOU are using to achieve those results.

Want to learn more about what I’m using? I am doing a LIVE video today on my Facebook showing my results & what I used to achieve these results!

Disclaimer: What has worked for me may not work for you, but I found all these elements together helped my hair grow over an inch in a week and I also found a lot of new hairs on the crown and around my hairline.

Till next time……..

Leave a Reply

